.-') _ .-') _ | |
( OO ) ) ( OO ) ) | |
.-----. ,--./ ,--,' ,--./ ,--,' | |
' .--./ | \ | |\ | \ | |\ | |
| |('-. | \| | )| \| | ) | |
/_) |OO )| . |/ | . |/ | |
|| |`-'| | |\ | | |\ | | |
(_' '--'\ | | \ | | | \ | | |
`-----' `--' `--' `--' `--' | |
lite.cnn.com - on gopher - inofficial | |
ARTICLE VIEW: | |
France’s Axelle Berthoumieu given reduced 9-match ban for biting | |
Ireland’s Aoife Wafer at 2025 Women’s Rugby World Cup | |
By Ben Morse, CNN | |
Updated: | |
6:21 AM EDT, Wed September 17, 2025 | |
Source: CNN | |
France’s Axelle Berthoumieu has been given a reduced nine-match ban | |
for biting Ireland’s Aoife Wafer during their game at the 2025 World | |
Cup on Sunday. | |
In France’s 18-13 quarterfinal victory over Ireland in Exeter, | |
England, TV coverage showed Berthoumieu appearing to bite Wafer’s arm | |
during a penalty turnover. | |
No disciplinary action was handed out to the 25-year-old during the | |
match, but Ireland captain Sam Monaghan said she raised the incident | |
with referee Aimee Barrett-Theron. | |
On Monday, World Rugby, the sport’s governing body, an independent | |
foul play review committee (FPRC) had handed out a 12-game suspension | |
– down from the maximum penalty of 18 games. | |
The FPRC said: “In reviewing the matter live, the TMO (television | |
match official) was unable to determine clear and obvious foul play and | |
did not have the benefit of additional evidential submissions to | |
corroborate.” | |
The panel noted that Berthoumieu “was remorseful” and | |
“acknowledged foul play.” It reached its decision with the aid of | |
written evidence and broadcast angles. | |
The ban was to nine matches on Tuesday after an appeal was lodged which | |
recognized Berthoumieu’s admission, clean disciplinary record, | |
remorse and apology. | |
Berthoumieu will miss France’s upcoming semifinal against England on | |
Saturday and either the bronze medal game or the final on September 27 | |
as well as a further seven matches in her domestic championship. | |
Additionally, the FPRC gave France second row and co-captain Manae | |
Feleu a three-match ban for a dangerous tackle from the same game. | |
Although the panel noted that Feleu accepted that foul play occurred, | |
she did not believe it warranted a red card punishment and said she | |
would appeal the penalty. Feleu’s original ban was upheld Tuesday. | |
<- back to index |